no knife spaghetti

I don’t post many recipes on my blog, unless a really great one comes along.  My good friend shared this recipe with me last summer and it became a fast favorite.  Before I share it with you there are two things you should know: 1). I am not a food photographer.  I shoot people, generally speaking with a smattering of macro.  I have not invested much time in food.  I hope you feel warned. 2).  If you do not like tomatoes, this recipe is not for you.  Liking tomatoes will be a big prerequisite.  Totally not something you could pick out.

I love pasta every way imaginable. We have pasta several times a week.  This recipe is a great alternative to the heavier Spaghetti Bolognese, which I love.  This is a fresh, go to summer recipe…except I haven’t been able to wait for summer.

What you need:

6 ripe tomatoes…they should be very ripe, not firm.

1 package of bulb mozzarella cheese

several fresh basil leaves

4 cloves of finely crushed garlic

salt and pepper

olive oil

1 lb cooked pasta…al dente…no mushy pasta.

This recipe is called no knife spaghetti because you will not use any utensil to prepare. Except, I do use my garlic crusher…but don’t tell.  It is a gorgeous, rustic meal. You could also call it Spaghetti Caprese because it reminds me of Caprese salad.

To prepare, you will need a humongo bowl.  I use my very large pasta serving bowl.   Take your lovely tomatoes and rip them open with your hands! Be forewarned that you should wear an apron.  You are likely to be juiced.    Rip the tomatoes into bite sized pieces.  Take care to let the juice from the tomatoes fall into your bowl. The juice is crucial, so don’t wear all of it.   Next, tear the basil into small pieces over your bowl.  Take your bulb mozzarella and do the same thing.  Add your finely crushed, minced garlic and a generous seasoning of salt and pepper.  It will look like this:

Take your best olive oil and add several glugs.  I don’t measure, but if pressed, I’d say about 1/4 cup or more.

The magic happens here.  You want to let this lovely melange get happy.  Let this sit on your counter for about 1-2 hrs.  Do not refrigerate as you will not cook this sauce at all.  It needs to be room temp.  When you are nearing meal time, make your pasta.  I use traditional spaghetti noodles, but any will do.  I typically toss the pasta with the sauce to make sure it gets well coated.  Serve in bowls with a few spoonfuls of the liquid that accumulates at the bottom.  It is gold! Serve with a good crusty bread. It makes a wonderful tool for dipping.

A glass of wine wouldn’t go amiss either.

NapTime MomTog
Comments

  1. You Can say that you are not a food phptographer, but your photos came out very well. Food is he hardest subject in photography in my opinion.
    I’ll give t a try some time soon!

  2. Yummy! I love this. You can totally be a food photog…smitten kitchen has nothing on you!

  3. Wow!! That first photo looks so crisp! Great photos and the end result looks amazing!

  4. Oh my! That is so yummy!

  5. yummy! i would love to try that too 🙂 thanks for sharing!

    happy WW!

    http://thelayugan.blogspot.com/2012/02/sunflower.html

    see yah!

  6. The spagetti looks so yummy!!

  7. Thanks for sharing! Sounds like a great recipe for the kids to help with. Spaghetti Bolognese is a regular fav around here, in fact we had it last night. This recipe reminds me I need to get some tomatoe seeds started this weekend. Great job on the pics.

  8. Oh my, I am SO making this!!! Thank you so much for sharing this. I’m generally more of a white sauce kind of gal when it comes to pasta,but this one is calling my name. 🙂

  9. This looks so delicious! It is sort of similar to a recipe I shared a few months back (beware I’m not a food photographer either 😉 Here’s the link if you want to try it: http://www.serendipityissweet.com/2011/09/recipe-sicilian-tortellini-salad.html

    I’ll definitely be trying your recipe! And I think your pics look lovely. I especially like the first one – so fresh!

  10. OH! MY! WORD! That looks so good. Definitely making this

  11. I can not wait to make this- this looks fabulous!!

  12. I have to tell you – I made this and it is incredible. My husband loved it too! I am going to post a link back to this post on my blog next week – I need to share this yummy recipe! 🙂 Have a nice day!

Trackbacks

  1. […] now the fun tidbit!  I mentioned in this post that I didn’t think I was much of a food photographer…still don’t actually.   […]

Leave a Reply

