366 rewind week 3

I absolutely love doing the 366 project! I am being pushed creatively, in a good way, and I really feel like this year is going to be a HUGE benefit for me.  Forcing myself to shoot every or almost every day is a growing experience.  I’m enjoying be challenged and motivated by all the participants as well.  I love mixing with people with similar passions.  Without any more gushing, let’s see what I shot this week.

The first page of the Beth Moore Bible study I am doing this year.  It is Living Beyond Yourself.  It is a study of living out the Fruits of the Spirit.  I know I can use more fruit.

My boys are sharing a moment together over a book.  What is more precious?

This image has no real purpose except me being experimental with everyday objects around our house.

This is our Jasperman!  I told him to fly.

My precious husband and friends conspired to host a surprise 40th birthday party for me this past Friday night!  I was blown away by the love and planning that went into this night.  We had a lovely dinner at a nice restaurant in our area.  Decorations were brought in, lovingly made by my friends.  In honor of my 8 years spent living in Thailand, these fans were made each containing an adjective that describes me.   They were meant to be read aloud during a champagne toast, but the restaurant was so very loud so they gave me the fans to read to myself later.  Still, I was deeply grateful and touched.   The Lord is good to me.

Ok, so hi!  My name is Kim.  Welcome to my blog.  This is my first selfie.  I haven’t meant to be coy with who I am on a public blog.  Honestly, of course self-consciousness plays a role.  As much as I take pictures of everyone and everything else…I do not know how to do selfies.  It is a skill, and as you can see I ain’t got that skill yet.  I will not hand my camera over to anyone else. I hide from people with cameras that click indiscriminately. I do not look like THAT, do I?   I have a growing conviction about getting more of myself on this blog.  It’s my dang blog after all.  AND…I feel that you lovelies need to know whose blog you are reading. I am going to work on learning to do self-portraits.  I do not have a remote yet, so I will have to long arm and use reflective surfaces.  Nice to meet you dear readers! I’m also just going to own that I will be 40 on Tuesday…there, I said it twice in this post.  Oh, and I really have very naturally curly hair that I flat-iron when the mood strikes.  Ok…all my confessions are out in the open.  I feel better now. 🙂

I posted my foursome of the teas yesterday, but I wanted to share what capturing this image taught me.   I made my cup of tea and put it down to take a quick shot.   I got a few shots in, but I wasn’t overwhelmed.   I just started moving around to some slightly different angles, and suddenly this reflection of the trees came into view.   This taught me that looking isn’t always seeing.   Truly seeing is more active.  To see, you have to take in all the angles or you might just miss something.  I’m sure we can come up with many applications for all aspects of our lives, but to just stick with photography for a minute, I learned that sometimes I need to be more investigative before pushing the shutter.  I need to see, not just look.

Naptime Momtog
Comments

  1. Excellent post.
    This kind of projects forces you to be very creative, I kow; you are doing pretty well.
    I loved all the photos, specially the second and third one.
    Keep up the good work!

  2. Hi Kim, I love the reflection in the tea cup, what an imaginative idea. Very nice 🙂 -Kim

  3. What a sweet photo of your boys reading together!

  4. Kim, these are such great images! I love the look of that Bible study – I might investigate that one. I sure could use some more fruit 🙂
    The shot of your boys is precious. And the reflection in the teacup is wonderful. My daughter (also into photography) took a shot almost identical a few weeks ago. It was perfect. She posted on the discoveries you make sometimes when aiming for something totally different..
    Great selfie – I don’t take any as I have had no success really to date.
    I am looking forward to seeing your Project 366 photos as the year passes. It really is a great link up, especially to force us into being more creative & stepping out of our comfort zone.
    Have a lovely week… Liz 🙂

  5. what a great post! you don’t look 40 yet 🙂 love the photos here 🙂

    http://faithful-wanderer.blogspot.com/2012/01/project-366-week-3.html

  6. Great to get to know you a little better!! Your photography skills are amazing. Sending smiles from Sunny South Africa 🙂

  7. I love your shots, the boys are so cute!

  8. It’s good to see you here, Kim, looking lovely, indeed. Almost 40 looks great on you! And what joy that Jack and company blessed you on your birthday- so good to see how God has answered prayers, giving you people in your life to love and be loved by.

  9. Happy birthday! Love the selfie shot and the tea cup.

  10. Great post! I love, LOVE, the shot of the boys reading. Your crayons are fab! J is too cute.
    Good job on the selfie. I’m really self conscious in front of the camera too. We will have to take some portraits of each other when we finally get together for tea, that way no handing off our cameras to someone else.
    LIving Beyond Yourself is One Of my favorite studies.
    In case I forget in the busyness of tomorrow. Happy birthday. Excited you had such a fab party. Wish I could have been there. Friends lIke you are a gift to be treasured.

  11. Great shots. I love 2, 3, & 4. So awesome. 🙂 Glad you are joining us.

  12. Love your 366 (and your camera choice!) 🙂

  13. These are so wonderful, Kim! The picture of your boys reading is just so sweet and the crayons are stunning! Great selfie, I take 90 pics and usually end up with one passable selfie!
    Tamar (also linking to Project 366)

  14. OH, that reflection in the teacup is amazing! Nicely done, and good lesson for all in many things.

  15. Okay- you know I am a fan & I love all these- but YAY for selfies. Hope to see more pretty lady!!!

  16. Love your set! Beautiful selfie! I need to get caught up on mine.

  17. These are great! I love the one of your boys reading…so heart warming…I hope for mine to share moments like this someday! Way to stretch your self creatively I’m loving it!!

Leave a Reply

