Top 11 of 2011

As most of us would say, I can’t believe this year is coming to a fast close.  2011 has been a pretty good year for us and that has been a huge relief.  We’ve had a difficult/challenging last 5 years for many reasons and much of it due to transitions.  Having a year that was straight forward with some treats thrown in the mix has been really, really good.  I can only give thanks to the Lord.  I’ve also experienced growth this year in photography and it has been exciting.  I still don’t know where it will all lead, but I do know that it is something I want to keep growing.  Let’s see what I am most proud of this year with my top 11!

I love this because it is moody and rich.  I also love that I was able to capture my middle child, who usually avoids the camera.  During this month of the year, I began to work on portraits.  I wanted to work on capturing good close ups.

I just love this ones creamy complexion.  Often I will seek him out to shoot because of his skin!  Around this time, I purchased my 85mm lens.  I was so excited and worked hard to pay for the lens on my own!  This image is one of the first taken with my new lens.

In June, I switched my camera from A to M.  I became a manual shooter 100% of the time and haven’t looked back!  It was also this time, when I had a mini photography crisis.  I noticed that every picture I took for a few days had poor focus.  I wasn’t sure what was going on, but I was practicing back button focusing.  I lost my confidence for a few days.  I pushed through and saw improvement.  I also began working on finding indoor light.   I have to admit that it has been those moments of crisis that have pushed me forward.  Whenever I start to cry, I have a break through.

Right after my mini crisis, I focused on shooting more frequently.  I needed to keep shooting to keep the passion.  I took my daughter to our neighborhood park for her turning 10 collection.  I love her natural expression here.

Around the same time, I took one of my favorite shots of all time.   This was a total set up because I was seeking to shoot whatever I could.  I styled his hair and started shooting.  I was working on focus and composition.  I made June top 10 (actually 11) with this photo! Amber also featured it on her blog and said it was one of the best bath shots she had seen! I was so encouraged by both of these features.  I needed the confidence boost and so appreciated it!

Fall came and we had a session.  I love this one of brothers.  They look nothing alike.  I love that no “faces” are being made here.

Here I began working on style.  I really felt that I needed to start to think more about wardrobe choice, layers, and stylizing.  I just loved this look on him.

This captures our nature lover.  I shot this on our fall mountain vacation.  I had a goal to capture some good leaf, autumn shots.

I love black and white conversions.  This one does it for me.  I love the light and shadows…the little hints of grain.   I was able to purchase a macro lens this fall and this was perhaps the second day of having it.  I carried it around while stopping at Barnes and Noble and shot this.

This one I love just for those super hero snarly lips.  Hysterical.

Finally, in December I worked on a pseudo studio.  I needed an indoor place to shoot.  I turned our playroom into a simple studio to take these shots.  It was shockingly simple, but worked well.  There is room to improve, but I was happy with what I achieved.

It was hard to narrow our year down to 11 images, but it was a fun task.  It is encouraging to see what I have grown in and what directions I need to go in 2012.

>Click It Up A Notch

Comments

  1. Awesome !!

  2. Gosh – these are all so gorgeous.

  3. These are breathtaking. I featured you on my facebook page. https://www.facebook.com/naptimemomtog Really awesome shots.

  4. All so gorgeous, your kids are adorable and your photography wonderful! Love the first one, the bath shot and the B&W brothers, but they’re all so beautiful..

  5. Your work is beautiful, Kim! And I’m reminded through this how beautiful God’s work is- 3 wonderful children and giving you a year that allows you to look back and smile. We have loved our 2011 time with you.

  6. Kim, so many wonderful shots!! I still love the bathtub shot, but I seriously can’t pic a favorite. It has been neat to see you grow as a photographer and fun to be on the journey with you. Still so much to learn, but so much fun.

    The kids are just so beautiful and you seem to have so much fun!

  7. I LOVE your photos –especially the black-and-whites (and not just in this set)!

    I know what you mean about needing to pick up the camera and shoot more frequently. I am in kind of a funk with photography lately and I know that I need to go out and shoot more.

    I laughed out loud when I read about the “no faces” bit. My son loves to make faces whenever I try to take his photo, too, and I struggle to get “good” ones of him without the silly faces. 🙂

    Have a wonderful 2012 –and may your photography grow even more. 🙂

  8. These are beautiful! I love hearing about your journey and your struggles. I too have found in my struggles and tears is when I push through and see an improvement in my photography! It’s a good thing to get discouraged, I think, because it shows you that you know more and are trying very hard to improve! yay! I still love that bath shot and am so glad that gave you a boost of confidence but you should be confident in your photography! Thank you for sharing and linking up!

  9. I just love the superhero shot. I think you should put a big gallery print of that up somewhere. It is so fun! So glad we have this common interest and can grow and bounce ideas around together.

  10. Your photos are gorgeous! You are really talented. Well done!

  11. Your pictures are beautiful and I liked reading about your growth over the year. Very inspiring!

  12. Love love love these pictures – thank you so much for sharing Kim. My fav is the Starbucks B&W. Those eyes are going to break a few hearts….

  13. Every one is spectacular, I absolutely love them all.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

