This and That

I think I have reached that point in the holiday season.   I have been to a few party-events.  I have baked for a cookie exchange that I didn’t even get to attend after all the work due to a miscommunication with my husband over schedules.  We’ve shopped and wrapped gifts.  My cards have been sent.  We’ve decorated.  I still have a couple fun things on the horizon, but I am at the point where I am ready to hunker down and savor the simple things that I love in the 10 days before Christmas.  It is this time that I like to slow down, drink hot tea, watch movies, bask by the fire, look at my tree and just ponder the sweetness of the gospel.   I love following that cord that begins with creation and leads up to the birth of our Savior.  It’s an amazing cord.  I am enjoying doing the Jesse Tree with the kids and introducing them to the continuity of the Old Testament and New.  I savor the time with our little family as we anticipate Christmas Eve and Christmas morning.  We have all but finished our first semester of school and will be taking off until January 9th…if I can hold out that long!  I’m looking forward to time off to just rejuvenate for the 2nd half of the year.  I think we are all a little ready for more down time.  It’s such a sweet relief to know that we have this break upon us.

And for fun…enjoy my snowman with his bottle brush Christmas tree.

Leave a Reply

