May I confess?

I have developed an addiction.  I have turned into a Yankee Candle hoarder.  You should see the top of my refrigerator which is presently hosting about 10 brand new candles awaiting their turn to burn.  It doesn’t help that Yankee Candle keeps sending me coupons for great deals.  It’s really hard for me to turn down a great deal.  In the past, I only had a candle or two a year.  Now, I am a sort of junkie.  I love candles, especially as the weather turns colder.  I like the ambiance of a lit candle, and I do like a cozy scent.  I’m particular about the fragrances and many of the scents are too sickening for my taste.  Yet, I always manage to find quite a few that I do like…thus the stash.  I have always felt bad throwing away the used jars, and though recycling is a great option, I have felt there must be something I could do with the jars.  I did a quick search on repurposing.   I found that people were able to get the jars clean and use them for all sorts of things, though food storage was not recommended due to residual fragrance.  I read through all the cleaning tutorials and came up with a way I thought easiest.  After letting the candle burn down to the recommended level, blow out the candle.  Let the hot wax sit for about 10 minutes.  It will cool and solidify enough to remove it.  Reach in the jar and simply scoop the warm wax out.  It should come out easily, but remove any large chunks that remain.  Fill the jar with hot water.  This will soften any remaining wax residue.  Wash with warm soapy water.  Peel off the label.  You will need to apply a small amount of sticker solvent to remove the sticker glue.  Rewash and dry!  You now have a clean jar ready for repurposing!  I am using my jars to organize craft supplies for school.  I had many opened bags of supplies that were really hard to manage.  My default was ziplock baggies to contain spills, but that wasn’t working all that well.   What I love about the jars is the uniformity of design, great tight lids, no added storage expense, and that I can see when we are running low of a certain item.  A bonus is that the craft supplies can be an attractive decoration for a craft or school room on a shelf!  Yankee Candles are expensive.  Finding a way to get the most out of the money spent just makes sense to me.   What would you use these jars for?

  • craft supplies
  • sewing materials
  • cotton balls
  • Q-tips
  • legos
  • seed packets and gardening items
  • pens, markers, crayons
  • school maniupulatives

 

Comments

  1. This is why I’m so glad I got a Scensty. I would totally have become a candle hoarder. Now, I just buy a ton of fragrance cubes and they don’t take up much room in my house. I could use the jars, though. But you know me, I would probably be too lazy to wash them and end up throwing them out anyway. 🙂

  2. love it! I always keep any jar I get! My hubby teases me…until I use a ton in different ways to give gifts! =) I keep band-aids and even spices in jars…LOVE them! =)

  3. This is such a great idea, I just might have to try it! My craft supplies are starting to overtake my desk, and everything looks more lovely inside a pretty jar.

Leave a Reply

