happier home schooling-day 21

If you are like most women I know, you are struggling to be a wife, mother, housekeeper, teacher, friend, and serve outside the home.   I have a hard time saying no when people ask for my time.  I truly want to help people who need help.  However, I can often find myself running from pillar to post trying to please everyone.   I end up very dissatisfied because of sheer exhaustion.  I am learning that just because an opportunity to serve is presented to me, does not mean that I need to fill it. In fact, my saying yes to more than I should may be keeping others from being challenged to grow in service.  When I have been brave enough to say no, I struggle with guilt.   I am learning to recall all the areas where I am saying yes presently, and not feel guilty about taking on a few more things.  When volunteerism becomes a drain on you and your family, it is time to reevaluate whether or not God is truly calling you to a task.  Taking care to not over commit will help keep us energized to teach our children day in and day out.   I believe we should be serving others, and teaching our children to serve…but wisely.  Choose your areas of service prayerfully.   Don’t say yes to more than you can reasonably handle.  Don’t say yes to requests just because you are afraid to say no.

Join me tomorrow for: from ordinary to extraordinary.

Leave a Reply

