happier home schooling-day 17

Home schooling your children does not mean losing your identity.  It is hard to run a home, educate the kids, be married happily, enjoy friendships, and still have time to cultivate your personal interests.   We will make time for the things we love.  It is healthy to enjoy the talents that God has given you.  I’m suggesting that it is possible and essential!  I have heard people say many times that there aren’t enough hours in the day to do it all.  There are days when I feel this way too.  Yet, God ordained that we would have 24 hours in a day to work and rest.  Sometimes we do have to admit that the things we don’t have time for are the things God would not have us spending our time on right now.  Indeed we cannot do everything.  I do believe, though, that we all have interests that we should make part of our lives because they are meaningful to us.  Ask yourself what you would do for yourself if you had the time.  What are the things that your heart is drawn to ?  What gifts and talents do you have that you want to use?  What inspires you?  I believe we should always be developing personally.  Time is a precious commodity that can get in the way of us pursuing our goals and dreams.  Evaluate the non-essentials that you can cut out of your day to make time for the activities you wish you had time to incorporate.   How much time do you spend on time wasting activities that have no real value?  Seek the Lord’s opinion.  Personally, I do not watch much TV.  My viewing time is about 1 hour in the late evenings.  This alone frees up a considerable portion of my time.  I limit most of my computer usage to actual productive tasks.  I check facebook and emails on my phone to limit time spent on devices.  I strive to use my time as wisely as I can, to make room for the things I love to do…like photography, blogging, and reading!   Spending time on the things I enjoy has been a mental boost for me, and I can’t stress how much!  Find your bliss!

image credit 

Up next: encouragement.

Comments

  1. When I grow up, I want to be just like you. 🙂 I have really enjoyed reading your series! Although we are not homeschooling, there have been many great things for me to think about and apply! I am only teaching 6 hours a week this year, so my new schedule has fit us much better. I miss you!

    • Awww, you are so sweet! Thanks for sharing that encouragement. I need it! 🙂 I’m glad you have a workable schedule this year! We are still come to TN in a few weeks. Still love to see you for a meal if possible!

Leave a Reply

