happier home schooling-day 15

Friendships are vital for everyone.  Our kids need friends to play with, no doubt.  However, I am going to focus on the friendships needed for the home schooling mom.  When I first began home schooling this was such a void in my life.  The culprit was not particularly that I home schooled.  We had just pushed the restart button on our lives, and friendships were non- existent.   I knew, though, that my home schooling was going to present a challenge in getting to know other women.   Building good friendships took time and a good deal of initiating on my part.  In the spirit of truth-telling,  there were/are people who probably let my lifestyle hinder them from seeking a relationship with me.  I wasn’t going to be able to avail myself on a whim.  I learned that this, in the end, is okay. However, there are many other women who did not let my lifestyle become an obstacle for them.  For me, it has been key to display that I am indeed still available.  Many people will assume that because you home school you can’t have or don’t want a social life.  My advice is to take the reins and initiate fellowship when you can.  Invite someone to coffee.  Go to an evening movie with some girlfriends.  Have breakfast on a Saturday morning.  Call some ladies during your after school hours and check on them.  Leave the kids with your husband occasionally and go out to a nice meal with a friend!  Have friends over for a meal as families.  There is so much a home schooling mom can do to cultivate friendships outside of her daytime hours.  I have been superbly blessed by the women God has brought into my life.  It is important to keep loneliness at bay by finding a circle of relationships that spur you on!

image credit

Up next: Cultivating you.

Comments

  1. What a lovely post; so true in fact. Some of my closest friends no longer live near me, but even just a short phone call can help when encouragement is needed. I have really enjoyed reading through your happy homeschooling posts. I too have no perfect homeschooling life, nor do I try to make it perfect. We take things one day at a time, and I try to enjoy my little ones as much as I can. Thanks so much for sharing.

    • Thank you! I’m glad you are reading along. Thank you for your comment reminding us that whiile perfection is ellusive, we can love our kiddos through our imperfect efforts.

  2. Now I want to go grab dinner with you.

  3. I always enjoy this when I get a chance to read. Friends are important.

Leave a Reply

