happier home schooling-day 1

Welcome to 30 days to a happier home school! Grab a cuppa and join me on the journey to happier days.  I’m looking forward to our month together. I’m quite the accidental home school mom.  I have a B.S. in Early Childhood Education.  I taught for a few years before having my babies.  I never intended to become a home schooling mom.  However, some life changes in 2007 found us moving back to the US after living overseas for many years.  My children had no real experience with American culture.  We thought it was best to let them acclimate to life here, so we began our home school journey.  It worked well and we decided to continue.  I have completed 4 years of home schooling and am entering my 5th year with all 3 of my children now under my tutelage.  I have a 5th grader, 2nd grader, and a preschooler.  My scope of teaching is quite different for this lot.  I won’t spend our precious time debating curriculum, or whether home school, private, or public schools are best. This won’t be a “who’s right and who’s wrong” series.  I believe that each of us has looked to the Lord in our decision for schooling.  We are all big girls.  So we will leave it there.  My desire for this time is to simply share the lessons that I have learned along the way.   These discoveries have come little by little, and have been tweaked a time or two to fit the changing needs our family.  There are as many ways to organize and run a home school as there are personalities of the teachers and students. There is no best way. I hope you have noticed that this series is about having a happier home school, not a perfectly happy one.  I don’t think that really exists.  Even today found me ready to pull my hair out when the distractions began to pile upon us.  I had one child that kept forgetting the rule about shouting out her thoughts and questions as I worked one on one with another child, the waste management truck parked in front of our house to loudly empty trash bins, the lawn care service arrived to treat the grass, my dog went nuts upon seeing a stranger in the yard, and a neighbor began using a very loud weed-whacker simultaneously.  Bad moments happen.   There are no magic formulas. However, having a framework to stave off some of the chaos can help create a happier day.  This is what works for us and what keeps me going in my quest to educate, mother, feed, and provide a home for my family.   I hope this series is an encouragement to veteran home schoolers, newbies, or the stay at home mom seeking to influence her children before they enter school outside of the home.   Please feel free to leave comments, questions, or share your own wisdom.  I am a believer in learning from one another!

Join me tomorrow for “Preparing”.

Comments

  1. Great intro! We have those same alphabet cutters. Learning to wait patiently for moms attention and instruction has been the challenge of the week here. The little ones are doing great but my three bigs have had a hard time adjusting to more structure. We have discussed Gal 6:7-10 over and over really focusing on sowing to the spirit rather than the flesh. These verses have kept me focused and going this week.

Leave a Reply

