end of summer

This is our last week of summer vacation. I know it is early by the standard of most to begin on July 18th. However, we homeschool, so we can have a little more flexibility with calendars. I decided to begin in mid-July for a few reasons. 1. We’ve been on summer vacation about 9 weeks already. 2. My kids are at each other’s throats…it’s time to reacquaint with structure. 3. We will be able to take the 3 weeks we begin school before our county and use them somewhere else, when we really need time off to recharge or take a vacation. I love summer as much as the next guy, but really 12 weeks of summer? To be honest though, I have my doubts. In theory, the idea of taking a week of in September and in October appeals to me. A week off in November is already given with Thanksgiving, and then we scheduled 23 days for Christmas! There is a winter break in February, and a spring break in April given by our county. That leaves another week to take either January or March. I know I will probably wish for a little more pool time this summer or other lazy days that we will see our neighbors enjoying. Yet, seeing on the calendar how frequently we can break and rest makes it all seem ideal. This is an experiment for the year and we can scrap it next year if we don’t enjoy having vacation spread out through the year. In light of all this, I have been busy, busy getting ready for the start of school. I have been rearranging things and trying to create a better “schoolroom”. You may remember that I bought this vintage school desk a couple months ago. It would work fine…but we went to Ikea…enough said, right? I found this work station which would create more tabletop for working and the kids would have chairs that fit them. We were at the dining table for a few years. I really felt this table would unite us, rather than having us lolling about wherever.

So, we bought it.   Jack has been busy building the flat packs and we are pleased with the outcome.  I have also generally been working on the other areas of the former office to create a comfortable and cheerful learning environment.  We really need pictures on the wall, which I find ironic being who I am.  I’m thinking of framing some of our favorite photos of the kids to use on the walls and the 12×12 canvas I won from Sweet Shot last week and www.redletterwords.com . I picked out Ephesians 3:20. We could probably use a coat of paint in here too…but baby steps.  I am going to spend the rest of the week sprucing up this space.

The kids are begging to start school now because they love the workspace.  Suckas! I knew I’d light a fire with the makeover.  I’m still not sure if I’m ready to start being that I’m conditioned to start in August, but I think I am going to fully appreciate this fast start in a couple months when we are halfway through the year, by late October or early, early November.

And, because I’m weird and feel like I have to explain things…you may have noticed the watermark on my photos reading little by little.  I decided to watermark general bloggy type snapshots this way, and leave my Kim Cunningham Photography watermark for things which display my intentional, I’m trying to use what I know, work.  I’m still the same person.  Didn’t want to confuse anyone.  Hope y’all have a great week!

Sweet Shot Day

Comments

  1. Virginia says:

    Jonathan really likes the new digs! He wants a chair like that now.

  2. I’m falling for it too – this post makes me want to home school!!!

  3. Oh wow. School already. I am so thankful we have more time. I LOVE summer. My baby goes to school and leaves me though, so I imagine it is totally different. Your new space looks lovely. Hope the kids have a great time.

    Thanks for praying for Calli.

  4. kimmyskids says:

    Cheap at Ikea!

  5. Looks like a great workspace – I´m glad they liked it! 🙂

  6. Those are the same workspace desks I’ve had my eye on for some time. Room looks great! I love the red accents. I just need a room dedicated to schooling but I don’t see that happening…we are short on space as it is.

    • kimmyskids says:

      We have been typically too, but I’ve been surprised at how we have been able to use the space we have creatively. However, you do have more bodies to house!

  7. I would love to start classes if I had this beautiful workspace too! Love the desk and the pretty red lamps and chairs to go with it!

  8. What a great space for school! No wonder they are ready to start. My boys get 10 weeks off and it’s going by too fast.

  9. Love your set-up. We homeschool also and will be starting school on August 1st here.

  10. What a great looking school room! So funny to think of starting school then, up here in the North East most schools didn’t let out until 3 1/2 – 4 weeks ago! Hope you have a great year!

  11. I think you are on to something here. While we all love summer, I think placing those extra weeks throughout the year is much better for retention. I hope it all works out 🙂

  12. i always feel like i have nothing to blog about, but you just blog about your everyday life && it’s so interestinggg!!

Leave a Reply

