one man’s junk

We stumbled upon an antique shop just minutes from our house yesterday. We decided to have a look ’round just on a whim. We’ve never been into antiques, even though I do love vintage things. I love the idea of mixing vintage with modern so that you never have an old and outdated look. A few vintage things can add charm to a space, in my opinion. During our walk through, I found an old school desk with an ink well compartment. Being that I have been trying to sort out extra homeschool work spaces, the desk caught my attention. The idea of it being vintage and having history was an intrigue. The price was reasonable and my middle child fit so well into the desk. He would be able to use it for a couple years and then pass it down. We hemmed and hawed a bit before deciding that a $5 off discount would seal the deal. Once home, we tried researching the dating on the desk. We found out that the desk is from American Seating Company with a patent date of 1933. We couldn’t find more information than that. Hopefully not many dunces occupied the desk. I’d like to think that some fascinating little people once began their years of tutelage in this desk. We did discover a piece of fossilized chewing gum underneath.

Here’s to continuing the legacy of learning!

Sweet Shot Day

Comments

  1. That desk is absolutely wonderful – Iยดd love to have one like that!๐Ÿ™‚

  2. What a wonderful desk! Great find! I would love to find somethng like that.

  3. I love it! What a beautiful desk. So many learning moments… from the past and yet to come!๐Ÿ™‚

  4. What a great find…I wonder how many little people have had that desk assigned to them for the school year??

  5. What a great find! It’s a beautiful desk.

  6. Beautiful tones and light!

  7. That is a great find. I’ve seen a couple of desk like that around but they were not in that good of shape.

  8. this desk is so cool! Have fun with it๐Ÿ™‚

  9. I actually got to sit on one of those for a few years… not that I’m antique but I guess it must have been the thing to do for a private German school back in Colombia. Thank you for sharing. It just brought me back to my childhood…

  10. What gorgeous desk! And beautiful shot. I wish I could’ve gotten my daughter to sit in one spot while homeschooling, but she was a mover. The problem with that was, all the books came with her and at the end of the day, I felt as though I was living at the public library!

  11. We had a desk just like that. Wish I would of saved it.

    Great shotโ™ฅ

  12. That is an AWESOME desk – – – I don’t think I’d have hemmed or hawed one little bit, I would have said, “I’ll take THIS, please!”

  13. Oh I’d love to live right next to an antique shop..I’m afraid they’re a bit far & few between here in Jersey! You’ve really captured this desk’s beauty here๐Ÿ˜€

  14. Cindy Leaf says:

    And look at your gorgeous floors!! I love the desk, too! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  15. That chair is beautiful! I love that it has an inkwell compartment… how quaint! ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Love that desk! We have two antique desks that I used to love playing with as a little kid!Great find!

  17. What a beauty!

  18. Beautiful desk…beautiful shot:)

    Tiffany

  19. I loved shopping/browsing in my An-Ti-Que shop! Always fabulous to think about whose stuff I’m looking at. I always created stories about them. Lovely desk – a great find.

  20. Such a precious find! The design reminded me of the desks we had in high school, but this one probably predates those by decades๐Ÿ˜‰

  21. Even a desk/chair is rendered beautiful by your photography! Just gorgeous. What a terrific find as well!

Trackbacks

  1. […] things and trying to create a better “schoolroom”. You may remember that I bought this vintage school desk a couple months ago. It would work fine…but we went to Ikea…enough said, right? I […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

