hollyhocks

One year ago we planted seeds near one of our windows, and then promptly forgot what they were.  As summer went on broad leaf plants began to spring up.  The leaves looked and felt like pumpkin leaves, but surely we did not plant pumpkins.  We did remember that whatever those seeds were would take at least 365 days to bloom.  Finally as spring approached, the vines began to grow taller, and taller, and taller.  The vines sprouted buds all up and down the prickly stems.  Just days ago, the buds began to open revealing crepe-like buds, which feel like the petals from a rose.  What we have is hollyhocks!

Growing these is an exercise in delayed gratification.  They are about 7 feet tall presently.  If I had known, I don’t think I would have planted them near a window.  Hollyhocks are very English cottage garden, which I love!  I simply wish I knew how to arrange my back garden to achieve the look. 

The Flowers

All the names I know from nurse:
Gardener’s garters, Shepherd’s purse,
Bachelor’s buttons, Lady’s smock,
And the Lady Hollyhock.

Fairy places, fairy things,
Fairy woods where the wild bee wings,
Tiny trees for tiny dames–
These must all be fairy names!

~ Robert Louis Stevenson

Comments

  1. Planting something and forgetting what they are sounds like something I’d do :D.

Leave a Reply

