honey of the sweetest

” Do you know what is wrong with people who never read nursery rhymes? I will tell you.  When little boys and girls grow bigger and older, they should grow from the outside, leaving a little boy [or girl] in the middle; even when they are quite grown up, the little child that once they were should be within them.  But some unlucky people grow older from inside and grow so old through and through.”

~ quote take from Honey for a Child’s Heart

 

In reading the book mentioned above, Honey for a Child’s Heart, I was renewed again in what it is to be a mother who reads to her children and gives her children the most precious of gifts.  I have read many books on the subject of reading to our children, and found this book to be a wonderful resource for the parent seeking to make reading a staple of the home.  There are some wonderful points made in this volume about what kinds of books we expose and encourage.   Most enlightening was the reference to the “burden” many books today place on our children and how the very same ideals can be conveyed through works that do not sermonize.  A good and noble thought is just that.  It speaks for itself without need of a translator to tell us what it means and how then we should respond.  It’s just there to be pondered in our own minds and hearts.  Loved this thought.  It has come at a time when I am readying myself for next year…a bit early, I might add.  I will have 3 at home next year and the littlest one is so very eager to take his place among his siblings.  I can’t tell you how much good it does my heart to see him happy to be home learning, and not wishing for traditional schooling.  We are making our school room more accessible for all 3 this summer.  We’ve taken a little desk and placed it in the corner for Jasper.  He has a supply box which he is dying to fill, and is desperate to put some “school things” in his desk top.  He’s so excited!  I am too.  I love being the one to influence my children through books, conversations, home life, and more.  I’m thankful for the calling…even on the really tough days.

Comments

  1. I am so blessed to have you as my wife and as the mother of my children…You are truly the best mom ever. I love you…

  2. crystal says:

    I love you too Kim…thanks for the encouragement! =)

  3. What a great post! I love that book. This makes me want to pull it off the shelf and reread it.

Leave a Reply

