bombs

One little kid in my house has a special knack for leaving toy bombs all.over.the.house!  I have been in a battling his messes for weeks on end.  3 year olds are masters of making messes and leaving them.  It is not unusual to see piles of legos in every room of the house.  I find legos in the washer with the clothes, in the dryer with the clothes, under beds, in beds, in closets, under couches, in couch cracks, in the car seat, on the floorboards, and pretty much everywhere there is a space or surface.  Legos are wonderful toys, but also the bane of my existence as a housekeeper.  Thankfully, the mother/teacher in me knows they are excellent toys…or else I would do what one friend of mine did and sweep them up and throw them away, if left on the floors.  I used to think that was a waste, until my kids started playing with them.  Now, I fully understand.  I’m having to just let some things go where this is concerned. 

These guys are all lined up so nicely….but the entire surface of this dresser is covered in lego parts.

Another problem is the Thomas the Tank Engine bomb.  Thomas and his buddies chuff around the house.  I often find them at the top of the stairs on the verge of careening over the edge.  They do sometimes go off the rail and end up at the bottom of the stairs.  I find them everywhere imaginable too.

Then there is Jurassic Park, that I found in the playroom yesterday.

I’m not sure who is responsible for this, but it is almost a daily occurance.  The overturned school box is a real treat.

The 3 year old has to pick up after himself, but it doesn’t take more than a few minutes before another bomb explodes.  Such is life with the munchkin set!

Comments

  1. I promise that I did not see this prior to posting my laundry boy pocket status on Facebook. All mothers of boys are living the same life!!

    • kimmyskids says:

      I know you didn’t! I took the pictures yesterday, but didn’t post until late today….after your laundry incident. It’s a common occurence, I think. 🙂

  2. Haha! Those look like the same bombs I have at my house. Am I the friend who swept them up and trashed them? I’ve totally done that when I was tired of picking them up. As far as treasures in the wash go, the frog I found in the dryer tops anything else I’ve ever found.

    • kimmyskids says:

      No, it was my former team leader in Thailand…I suspect it is fairly common with experienced parents. 🙂

  3. I can relate to this! I never thought of them as bombs before, though! I love the pictures, Kim…what a great keepsake for when they’re 30 and have kids of their own and complain about their children’s bombs!!! Love it.
    See you soon, friend!

    • kimmyskids says:

      Exactly! Gracyn was mortified that I took a picture of her school supply box. She wanted to know where I would be posting that picture. Shame tactics!

Leave a Reply

