book one

Yes, I am on a little bit of a blogathon!  My time before school begins is short , so I guess I am making use of the time.  I bought the first book I want to read this year.  I feel that it makes a great first book to set the tone for the New Year.  The book is Boundaries.  I have known about this book for about 6 years.  I was avoiding it.  I think there is a temptation to read this book and erect a fence around yourself.  I don’t want to do that.  I want to read this book responsibly and pull only from it the principles that will help me follow God’s plan for me.  It is easy to let other people have a plan for you and to get trapped by the expectations of them.  A few months ago I was talking in a group of ladies and one expressed how hard it is not to feel obligated to say yes to everything asked of them.  I agree.  She also commented how there are areas where she desired to serve, but ended up serving in areas she didn’t really want to, just because it was expected.  I agree.  Just this year, I had the courage to say no to something I didn’t feel called to do.  I was relieved, but I ended up having to say no three more times before the person took me seriously. Then, I felt guilty.  Sometimes it is just easier to say yes, right?  I want to gaurd the goals I am setting out for the year.  I want to serve others too.  I think there can be a balance, a happy balance, where we are fulfilling both our goals and serving others within the areas that bring us joy.  Of course we will still have to serve outside of our desires at times, but it shouldn’t be 100% of the time.  I’m looking forward to this read.

I also bought the kids Jesus Calling: 365 Devotions for Kids.  If you are a Darby follower, you may have seen this cute book.  I love books that have good Biblical theology that teach kids how to view their world and how to view their God in practical, everyday situations.   Their time under our influence is so short.  It is important to shape their world view while we have them.

Comments

  1. loved this! I think that it gets easier to say no to people. I used to be horrible at it, and now I am really good about realizing that I need margin in my life just to stay sane! =) And the bible tells us ladies to be busy at home, so that is a good way to keep things in check for me!
    hope you have fun reading this year! I’m already so excited for reading!!

    • kimmyskids says:

      That’s encouraging Tarena. I do alright at saying no most of the time, but there are a few areas that really get hard. I hate to disappoint people.

Leave a Reply

