the best I could get

 

So this is about the best and almost only picture I got for Christmas.  It isn’t saying much.  For one thing, I was just too tired to take hundreds of pictures, and for another, the poor lighting indoors has been making for some cruddy pictures.  I have had this happen a few times when asked to take indoor shots.  So.very. frustrating.  I only have (had) two lenses.   Thankfully, I got a new lens for Christmas!  I have added a 35mm-f/1.8 to my equipment.   The lens is versatile and good for low light situations.  It is fast and sharp.  It is not a portrait lens, but it will serve those times when general photography is called for and will be great for walking about.  It is a prime lens and will require more footwork from me.  But that is good for teaching me to rely on my eye.  I left the lens in the box until almost 10:30 P.M. since I was so busy with Christmas.  I’m excited about seeing what this lens will do.  I have my eye on two more lenses.  It’s hard to wait, but as I work more (hint, hint), I can add on.  Currently, I have a little rather tall elf working on designing my website.  I’m excited about getting that done and launching my fledgling business this Spring!  I will be working on getting a business license in January, getting the website running in February and March, and will launch a Spring promotion for March and April.  I am taking pictures meanwhile, for those interested.  I’m excited about the possibilities!

Comments

  1. Cute pic! Love the matching Jammies. Where did you get them? I was looking for some for the girls but no luck finding any. I know what you mean about crudy indoor lighting. My Christmas morning photos have a yellow hue bc I had my white balance set wrong and they are grainy bc I ran the iso up the night before when I was shooting the tree and I forgot to run it back down.

    • kimmyskids says:

      Yep, I have done that before. We have very little natural lighting in our house. I really love natural light too. The next house must have lots of windows!

      I got the jammies at Gymboree. This is a Christmas Eve tradition for us. They get new Christmas Jammies every year.

  2. So thankful to hear of all your blessings, Kim. I’ll be interested to hear how you like your prime lense. I’ve thought of getting one, but not sure my non-professional purposes justify the expenditure. It would be great to be able to get better shots in low-light situations, particularly in my house, though! Can’t want to see your pictures with it!

    • Thanks! They are actually affordable right now! You may want to look into the 35mm. I will post pictures in the weeks to come, so you can see what it does.

Leave a Reply

