It happened!

Jasper is wearing Thomas undies! After weeks and weeks of major backsliding, Jasper decided he was ready to be potty trained after all.  We pretty much exhausted the gamet of tricks to get him to cooperate with training.  We tried everything, except offering a bubble bath…who knew?  Jasper has always liked bubble baths, but we never connected that they could be the missing link.  In a moment of desperation, I offered one last bribe.  I offered a bubble bath in exchange for a poop in the potty.  He took me up.  He did what was required, and I gave him the reward.  Ever since, he has been constantly on the potty and has not looked back.  We bought big boy pants and he says, “no more diapers!”  Oddly enough, Aidan also potty trained practically overnight at 3 1/2.  I think I come back to my initial thoughts in that children potty train when they are ready.  I think there is a lot of pressure to be heavy handed with potty training.  It doesn’t work for me, and I wish I would trust my instincts more.  At any rate, we finally arrived and are so happy to be moving beyond the diaper years.

Leave a Reply

