New beginnings

Tangrams before lessons

 

 

Summer break has come and gone.  We are back to the books!  We began our 4th year of homeschooling today and added Aidan to the roll.   I was a little “worried” prior to today with wondering how it would be teaching two kids on two different grade levels.  I was concerned about the length of our day spent in studies and with how the dynamics of our school would change.  I think every new beginning has challenges to overcome and we had a few today.  We had to figure out the balance of one on one time with each child and how to occupy the prechooler still waiting for his school to begin.  We had the intitial shock of summer’s abrupt end and having to apply ourselves to the tasks at hand.  All par for the course, if you ask me.  Still, I think today went rather well.  Aidan was a champ and took right to his lessons.  This is old hat to Gracyn, and we just picked up where we left off.   Our day was longer, but at the end of the day I found myself enjoying it.  There was less dead time to fill.  The balance between studies and free time was right.  Too little free time leads to frustration, but so does too much!  There was less bickering during free play and less time for boredom to creep in and cause peskiness. With the kids helping around the house, nothing was left undone.  We’ve decided to borrow Karen Andreola’s school motto: I am…I can…I ought…I will!  I think this will keep us focused and stave off problems.  I explained that we are children of God, and therefore, we can do all things through Christ.  If we can do all things through Christ, then we ought to do them excellently. And so we will!  Gracyn liked this very much and I have posted it above her work area.   We will also use Colossians 3:23 as our verse of encouragement in excellence.  I’m sure both of these will be reminders for me as well.  We are very excited about this year and pray that it will be a strong one for us all.

Comments

  1. I am, I can, I ought, I will…good old Charlotte Mason! I love it! You always make me want to home school, Kim:)

  2. kimmyskids says:

    And there are days I long for ICS! 🙂

Leave a Reply

