Box Day

If we are facebook friends, you have already seen these.  My apologies.  Since this is the only “scrapbook” my kids will have, I feel I should post this here too.  Last Thursday we had Box Day.  Box Day is the day that our school books and supplies arrive in big white boxes on our door step.  Everyone gathers around the boxes for the unveiling.  Everyone oohs and ahhs over the contents.  Everyone begs to begin school at once.  I don’t give in to their request.  As much as I bask in their enthusiasm, I know that we really need our full summer.  They need some time to just be.  I need time to plan and ready myself for another year.  Additionally, I really like the build up to the beginning.  I think they need to get excited about the “first day” and all the planning for it.  I guess I don’t want to feel like we are stumbling upon it.  Yesterday, I finished up a few supply needs like getting markers, pens, and such.  Aidan, now being 5, got a brand new set of markers.  He’s never had his own markers.  He’s only been privy to the use of his sister’s from time to time.  He was so excited about having his very own set of markers that he doesn’t have to ask to use.  It’s the little things like this that make savoring the countdown to the first day fun.   Two supply boxes with brand new things are smiling down from our shelf!

Comments

  1. Happy Box Day! [smile] Great photo!

    ~Luke

  2. kimmyskids says:

    Thanks!

  3. I got all my books on the shelf yesterday. I think I’m as excited as the kids. I have a basket to hold the books that we will be using each week, since my shelves are in the basement and we usually do school in the kitchen and den. All I have left to get are some binders. One for me, so that I can pull out a week or two at a time of the instructors manual and notes and one for each of the kids to keep all their papers in.

  4. I think it is a wonderful thing that you can share the joy of educating your own children! I have thought many times that I wanted to do this with my kids, but knowing my lack of patience and structure, it just wouldn’t work. I do however love to hear all about the exciting ways you teach your children, you are such an inspiration!

Leave a Reply

