new to the garden

I’ve been spending time over the last few weeks tending the new growth around our perennial garden areas.   Everything is up and growing!  We’ve been working on our backyard for almost three years.  We buy a little here and there, in an effort to create a lush and flowery garden.   The problem is, each year when I reevaluate our current arrangement, I decide that I really want to move things around to fill in gaps or create more space where it is needed.  A few mishaps happen each year, due to my inexperience.  Like today for example, I decided to divide one of my big day lilies to fill in an empty space.  I think I killed it in the process.  Digging it up was a little tangle-y, and I either broke the roots or damaged the bulbs.  I planted them anyway, and they look like a droopy mess.  I’m going to give it a couple days to see if they perk up, however, I think the writing is on the wall…or the mulch so to speak.  I goofed.

This makes me hesitant to ever try dividing the others!

On the other hand, I added a few new things after a brief stop at Lowe’s today.  I went to get containers for tomatoes, but came back with other things.   My first new treasure is this peony.  I have been envious of my neighbor’s peonies for a few years.  They look so gorgeous both as buds and in bloom.  I got a little starter plant today, and I’m looking forward to the day when it is big and mature.  Here is mine:

Here is the neighbor’s:

Look at the big blooms! I love them.  I hope she doesn’t mind my covert picture taking of her yard.  If she does, I will have to bring up the fact that I’m mad at her million cats using our yard for personal business.  They have already ruined some of our new plantings from seed with their scratching.  I’m not sure one picture makes us even.

I also bought a blue delphinium , a white candy tuft plant and a couple small salvia.   These are helping to fill some of the bare spots in our largest flower bed.  I can’t wait to see everything in bloom!  Soon the Asiatic Lilies will be in bloom and then the summer plants should be about ready.

 

 

And, I’m pleased as peas to see this:

 

We were told when we first moved in to our house to prune our hydrangea down to the ground, however, we discovered that Mopheads to not get seriously pruned in this manner.  We were without flowers that year.  The following year, my lovely children picked all the buds off the branches in winter, which were to be that summer’s flowers. Again, no hydrangea flowers.  This year, I strongly encouraged the kids to leave the hydrangea alone.  Now, I have promising buds all over!  It only took three growing seasons!

Leave a Reply

