On visiting Trader Joe’s for the first time

I live pretty removed from the “scene” in Atlanta.   Being south of the airport tends to be that way.   In the 2+ years we’ve been back from overseas, I’ve heard the buzz about Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods.  I was curious, but not sure if I was curious enough to drive 32 miles for groceries!  Well, I am… or was.  I decided to visit Trader Joe’s yesterday, just to see what the fuss is all about.   I loaded my 3 kids into the car and off we went.  Upon first impression, I wasn’t all that impressed.  It is small.  I think I was expecting a huge place.  As we made our way through the very narrow aisles, I found many little treasures!  We loaded up our cart as we made our way around the store with organic foods and specialty items.  The prices were reasonable and I will certainly frequent the store.  Currently, I have a bag of  Tempting Trail Mix, tempting me.  I think I bought 4 varieties of trail mixes, one of which is Lime and Chilis.  Upon reading the ingredients, it is really Tom Yum spice covered nuts!  I liked finding things like parmesan cheese made with raw milk and antibiotic free.  I liked finding things without corn syrup and hydrogenated oils. I found some great whole wheat bread that isn’t too soft!  I’ve kind of been feeling convicted about foods lately.  What I am thinking is not an indictment on anyone else but ourselves.  I’m not trying to tell anyone else how to live.  Lately, I have been working on trying to eat food in the most natural state possible.  I’m not really referring to eating raw food, but just food that isn’t highly processed and out of jars and boxes.  We don’t eat much of that anyway, but I’m trying to cut even what we do eat from boxes way down.   One current offender is all the snacks we offer the kids, such as Goldfish and other crackers.  These “foods” really aren’t good for anyone.  I’m trying to wean much of this out of the home. My kids are little cracker junkies.  It is far more nutritious to offer some fruit.  I’m also disgusted by all the candy that has made its way through the door since the fall.  It seems like there has been one candy occasion after another.  I’m tired of it being in the house, frankly.  I’ve made some good progress over the years, so it isn’t like we are starting cold turkey here, but during the busy times, it is easy to backslide.   I am becoming more convinced that what we eat affects how well we feel, how well we sleep, moods and etc…  I heard recently on a program that with our current diet in America that our kids will not be expected to have the same life expectancy as their parents!  We are going to make some more changes.  This is why I would drive 32 miles for some decent food. I won’t do that more than once a month or so, because it isn’t reasonable.  However, I do get tired of being bombarded with poor food choices in the local stores.  There are aisles and aisles of factory made convenience foods.  They are tempting, but these companies really do not have our best at heart.  It’s something to think about anyway.  I do not have this all figured out, and we are certainly not perfect eaters.  I’m just giving it some thought and making some changes.  I’m not trying to be a homeschool, cloth diaper using weirdo gone vegan or something.   Not that there is anything wrong with that as I am two of the three!  I just wonder sometimes if the more we progress as a nation if we don’t actually stray farther off the course. Know what I mean?

Comments

  1. HILARIOUS!!!!
    “I’m not trying to be a homeschool, cloth diaper using weirdo gone vegan or something.”
    Best sentence in a blog I’ve read in a really long time. Thanks for the laugh out loud!
    It is wonderful that you are trying to do the best for your family Kim.

  2. Tim & Rhianna says:

    I’m right with you, Kim; this is very much how I think and I LOVE Trader Joe’s!!

  3. I am right there with you, Kim! I am trying to completely irradiate certain “ingredients” from our home and eat as naturally/organically as possible. It is a creative challenge budget wise, but in the long run I feel it is a good investment. We live near a Whole Foods and some great farmer’s markets, but no TJ’s. I’ve found this website to be a great creative resource http://www.heavenlyhomemakers.com

  4. kimmyskids says:

    Thanks Jamie! I will have a look at that!

Leave a Reply

