for posterity

I’ve been thinking lately about my tree.  My husband gave me a tree for Valentine’s Day four years ago.  It is planted in “my” yard, on the other side of the planet.  It is reasonable to assume that I may never see it again, but it is still my tree.  Before I go on, this post is not a lament.  It could be, if I let it.  However, this blog is kept in part for posterity,  and is a journal recording thoughts that my kids will one day like have.   They should know about my tree.  It is a Frangipani, my favorite tropical bloom.  This picture, though horribly out of focus, is from my tree.  It was a small sapling when given to me.  A sapling was the only affordable way to have one of these trees as they can be very expensive.   When we planted it, we felt it was a rather permanent thing to do.  We were acting on what we thought to be true…that we would be around to see it grow.  I loved my garden, minus the snakes.  I loved so many of the gardens in our neighborhood.  Other properties had Frangipani as well, and would frangrance the sidewalks near them.  I found Frangipani to be a great source of comfort for me.  A sniff of one of these blooms would bring calmness and happiness.   My fondness for these flowers began at the beaches of Thailand, which are a treat.  The resorts where we stayed had these trees gracing the areas around the pools.   A breeze would catch these flowers sending them to float in the pool, and instinctively I would catch one up and take in the heavenly frangrance.   I would look at the blue skies, feel the clean breeze, smell my blossom and think that there was no better place to be on Earth!  You know that feeling you get when you are sorely in need of a get away, and you finally get-a-way?  The Frangipani symbolizes that feeling of  refreshment for me.  My children would often collect fallen blooms in our neighborhood to present to me, knowing I liked them so much.  After 6 years, I finally got my own bright pink flowered sapling.  I’ve wondered how tall it has grown and whether the new residents of the house are caring for it.  I’ve wondered if anyone appreciates the flowers and takes a moment to smell them.  I wonder if it is still where I so forlornly left it, without even a chance to say goodbye by pinching off one last bloom to press in a book.   Still.  I like to envision that it is where I left it, in my yard, right next to the Bird of Paradise.  I imagine someone lovingly tending it and appreciating its beauty.  Years from now, noone will know that it was planted by a Farang (white foreigner), but I do hope it remains and leaves my mark on a most beloved place.

Comments

  1. I have camelias in “my yard” in Newnan. Bill planted many trees with different special occasions that they were planted for engraved/etched on tags on them. The camelias were grown from seeds that my grandmother grew into little plants just for me. Bill took me to several of the places that we used to live on Valentines day last year. The camelias are going strong. We even had an agreement to get the plants and replace them with others if done within a year. It’s way past a year…
    Maybe you will see that tree again. I think that it is great that you record this for the kids. They will know the flower that touches their mother’s heart and why!

  2. kimmyskids says:

    Thanks Misty! Flowers and trees are important to me. I hope to make a nice one here too, but it takes awhile. My other yard was full when we moved in and very, very tropical…and peaceful, except for the cobras.

Leave a Reply

