Some of you already know that I just celebrated a birthday.  It was my 30 (gulp) 8th birthday.  I won’t go into all the birthday hoopla, but I will share one gift that I am looking forward to diving into….and no, it isn’t my camera.  I was able to go to Williams-Sonoma and pick out some things that I have wanted.  Most are all smallish kitchen gadgets that just make cooking a little easier, nothing to do backflips over.  I did chose a cookbook that I have had my eye on for ages.  Awhile back I shared a recipe for Quick and Easy Tomato Soup by Giada De Laurentiis.  This soup is one of our favorites.  I was introduced, via television, to Giada on Food Network.  Her food always looks amazing.  She has several cookbooks published, but I have really wanted her Everyday Italian for a few years.  So I got it!  The draw for me is how simple and rustic her meals are.  Everything is fresh.  Though the meals tend to be simple, the food looks simply gorgeous.  There aren’t many ingredients in the meals, but she does have several staple items that comprise the recipes.  Of her 125 recipes, I can absolutely see myself making about 123 of them.  The two others are of little consequence.  This cookbook, to me, is one of the most useful cookbooks I have every had! I mean how many times have you bought a cookbook to find out only 5 recipes are realistic whether by ease, desire, or taste?  I know I have.  I’m really excited about learning to make some of the essential Italian foods such as sauces, risottos, stews, and roasts.  Check Giada out at www.foodnetwork.com .  She will share some of her recipes for you to try…but be warned you may get hooked!

Comments

  1. Tim & Rhianna says:

    That tomato soup has become a favorite of ours, too. Have fun with your cookbook and gadgets…and if you try any recipes that are amazing and family friendly, feel free to share! So glad you had a happy birthday.

  2. kimmyskids says:

    I will for sure!

  3. I saw that cookbook yesterday when I was in W&S. I wish I had read this before then and I could have checked it out. I’m sure I’ll be back soon. I got that nice 12qt stock pot with the mesh inserts! I’ve been needing a big stock pot and watching for a good deal.

Leave a Reply

