I christened my new Le Creuset dutch oven yesterday!  I didn’t get too fancy by trying to make French cuisine.  I went for traditional pot roast.  It seemed the easy thing to make and I knew it would be good.  The pot roast was really good.  I’m sure some due to the cut of meat and some to the quality of the crockery.  I really liked how the dutch oven is a slow to heat pan.  I noticed that searing the roast before roasting was a breeze.  The meat didn’t stick at all, which has been an issue with me in the past.  The roasting was nice too as the lid was not ill-fitting.  The meat was tender, and the au jus was very flavorful for making gravy.   Whether you have a dutch oven or not, I’ll share my recipe with you, if you like.  This recipe makes a wonderfully comforting pot roast!

My pot roast…as adapted from many influences:

1 nice sized oven roast…pot roasts tend to be more stringy

1 small bag of carrots cut long-wise and quartered

1 bag of baby dutch potatoes

1/2 cup red wine

1 can diced tomatoes with basil, onions and oregano

2 bay leaves

salt, pepper, and rosemary

1 cup beef broth

 

Heat some olive oil in your dutch oven or other pot with a fitted lid on medium-low heat.  Allow pan to slowly heat. Meanwhile, heat your oven to 325 degrees.  While your pan is heating, dry your roast with a paper towel.  (did you see Julie and Julia?)  Dry meat browns nicely.  When your pan is heated, add your roast and brown on both sides.  Next, season your meat.  I don’t really measure much with this dish.  I just season well with sea salt, freshly ground pepper, and rosemary.  I love rosemary on pot roast!  Open the can of diced tomatoes, and pour over the roast.  Slowly, add in the 1/2 cup or so of red wine and stir.  Allow to cook on medium-low heat to evaporate the alcohol from the wine and to help bring out the rich wine flavor.  After a couple minutes, add in the beef broth and bay leaves.  Mix well.  Turn off the heat and cover your roast.  Place in the oven for 1 hour.   After the hour is complete,  add the baby dutch potatoes whole and your carrots.  I usually cut my carrots long-wise and quartered.  Allow to roast another hour.  Finally, remove roast and veggies from your pan, but leave behind the juices in the pan.  If you like gravy, here is what you do.  You’ll need to make a roux with 2-3 Tablespoons of melted butter and 2-3 Tablespoons of flour mixed in.  Heat the pan juices to boiling and then add in the roux and stir vigorously and continuously with a whisk.  Lower the heat to simmering and continue to whisk until the roux is incorporated and begins to thicken.  Allow to cook over low heat for a few minutes to cook off the floury taste.  Voila…you are done.  Happy eating!

Comments

  1. Kim,
    that sounds delicious but since I cant have beef anymore, I am going to try to adapt it to turkey.

    I’ll let you know what happens.

    helen henry

  2. kimmyskids says:

    That sounds good too and I bet Chicken would be good as well. I’m glad to hear you are doing well after the stint!

  3. Tim & Rhianna says:

    Two things:

    1- I have a LC Dutch oven that I love, too. Unfortunately, the enamel cracked while we were making popcorn. I took it back to America and haven’t yet had it fixed, and I miss it! So, stick to your yummy pot roast and steer clear of popcorn!

    2- I enjoyed reading your musings and goals below. Happy New Year, and may this year be full of wonder for you, my friend!

  4. Cindy Leaf says:

    mmmm! that sounds and looks delish!

  5. It was the best pot roast I’ve ever had. My wife is AWESOME! Hot Mama!

Leave a Reply

