Christmas reading

Last year I began a collection of Christmas stories.   These were stories that we’d read by the tree and the fireplace before bed.  Books are expensive, so it may be quite sometime before we have an extensive collection.  Most of the books I bought are picture books.  I did this for the little ones, so they could have a visual to enjoy.   This year I plan to read Dicken’s A Christmas Carol to Gracyn.  I’m not sure if the boys are ready for the spirits in the book.  I’ll have to ponder that a bit.   I’m looking forward to reading the Dicken’s since I do not think I have read the original.  I’m sure I have read retellings…which are now banned on our book shelves. I’d much rather read the genius of the original author than a simplified retelling.    Of course, I’ve seen a variety of movies based on the book.   My Christmas collection contains:

Gingerbread Baby by Jan Brett. This is an adorable book with beautiful pictures.  Every scene looks like a Swiss landscape.  This book is based on the classic Gingerbread Man story.  This book would be fun to read with making gingerbread houses.

Great Joy by Kate Dicamillo. We love DiCamillo books.  What a gifted author.  This story is about compassion and sharing.

The Gift of the Magi by O. Henry. I remember this done as a movie as a child.  This a story of sacrifice when a young husband sells his pocket watch to buy his wife combs for her lovely long hair, while she sells her hair to buy a chain for her husbands pocket watch. 

Drummer Boy by Loren Long.   This is the story of a beloved drummer boy toy that gets accidentally thrown away with the rubbish.   He finds himself in very precarious situations.  Finally, he is discovered in an unexpected location and taken back home.  He is then given a position of honor in the family’s nativity.

Mortimer’s Christmas Manger by Karma Wilson.  A house mouse looks for a warm and comfy bed in the nativity scene of the house in which he resides.

The Night Before Christmas by Clement C. Moore.  The book I have is illustrated by Gyo Fujikawa.  I love Fujikawa’s pictures.   The drawings have a vintage quality to them that conjure up a feeling of warmth.  This poem is a Christmas classic!

The Legend of the Candy Cane by Lori Walburg.  I’m sure many of us have heard the allegory of the candy cane.  This is a fun way to share the love of Christ.  Read this while eating candy canes for effect!

What are your favorite Christmas stories?

Comments

  1. Tim & Rhianna says:

    I just pulled the Christmas books out yesterday…Have you read ‘The Christmas Miracle of Jonathan Toomey’? It’s a beautiful one that will make you cry. We also love Toot and Puddle, and they have a good ‘I’ll Be Home for Christmas’ one. Happy reading, and get cozy in that cold rainy weather we hear you’re having!

  2. kimmyskids says:

    I have heard the title but do not know what it is about. I’ll have to check it out as you are a super book reviewer!

  3. If you get a chance (and I’m sure Amazon Marketplace do a cheap copy of it) you should check out Papa Panov’s Special Day. It was always my favourite Christmas story. Enjoy-Christmas at your house sounds fun!

Leave a Reply

