I am in need of what Karen Andreola refers to as “Mother Culture”.  Many of you stay at home mommies probably can relate to the age old dilemma of giving all to your family and taking very little time for yourself.  This is the rut that I have found myself trying to crawl out of.  I do love homemaking.  I would not want to sit in an office all day, thank you.  I love to cook, teach my children, read to them, and even do laundry.  However, I have seen how easily these things have consumed all my time.  I haven’t yet been a person who has had the ability to indulge in too many outside interests.  It seems that the path of our lives has made hobbies and recreation very difficult.  I do not regret the years in which this wasn’t possible, yet I am feeling the effects of not having much that I enjoy and that refreshes me.  It isn’t a new theory to suggest that mothers take some time to off so that they can be refreshed and serve their families more.  I am seeing the wisdom of carving out time for myself.  Seeing and doing are two different verbs.  I have been asking myself, “ok….so what is it that you want to do?”  Sometimes I do not even know the answer to this question.  I have been stumbling upon some mommy blogs lately and have been impressed and inspired by what I have been seeing.  I have been reminded by them that I really do want to learn to sew.  This has been a goal of mine for years.  I have seen some darling projects that I would love to make.  I did make some small projects last summer on a borrowed machine, yet that won’t make me a seamstress.  I would love to bake more.  I have had my heart set on a Kitchen Aid mixer for awhile, but they are so expensive! I would love to be more artsy~fartsy, but this isn’t a natural gift.  I would have to work at it, which has probably deterred me. I am seeing how something in me wants to create, but I am so uncreative! I also want to continue trying to be a gardener.  I love flowers and beautiful things.  I still have no idea what I am doing but I enjoy planting and watching things grow.  Hurry Spring! My desire is to try to build some of these things into my life…somehow.  These desires get swept under the rug because home life can be so consuming.  There are always so many requests for my time both inside and outside the home.  I’m striving for balance.  I’m not exactly sure how I will implement these things.  I have to just start.  I can’t sew, create or garden today.  Maybe I’ll start by putting the kettle on…

Comments

  1. When Maggie was born and I started staying home, I taught myself how to sew and smock. I took a few classes to help me out, and it has kept me occupied ever since!

    • kimmyskids says:

      I would love to learn some simple things. I have borrowed Lisa’s machine and I suppose I need one of my own. I’m probably not a self taught kind of girl, but I hope to learn a few tricks. Too bad you don’t live closer, I could use some pro lessons!

  2. I hear ya! I’m at the same place, dreaming of all I want to venture into and accomplish, yet worn out by the daily tasks. BTW we will be here until the end of March, b/c David’s getting married. We’ll have to get together again soon.

    • kimmyskids says:

      Well, David made up his mind then eh? That’s great. Is it going to be a quickly planned wedding? I guess so…if you are staying put. We will def have to get one more visit in.

  3. you can sneak away and come here and we can sew stuff on my machine.

  4. I know exactly how you feel…since my kids are now getting “older” I am not needed as much. I am finally doing things for me! I so enjoy crafts as you can tell from my blog and I follow lots of other scrapbookers and crafters blogs to keep me inspired…I carve out time for me, plan days just for me to go with friends and be creative…I have only been doing this for about a year now and find that I am still giving lots of time to my family, but now about twice a month I have a day to myself, doing what I love! I use to take hour long baths when hubby came home from work just to get some me time…it was so worth it!

    • kimmyskids says:

      My kids still need me a lot, but I know that someday they will be on auto-pilot. It’s going to be hard to find the time, but I know I need it.

Leave a Reply

