I made Jack’s favorite meal tonight. Tonight is our 10th anniversary eve. About 3 months ago, Jack mentioned that he wanted to start a tradition where our anniversary is celebrated as a family. He wants the children to see us celebrating our anniversary and for them to feel included. He feels, as do I, that it is so important for the kids to understand how special marriage is and that it is a covenant not to be taken lightly. So often, couples see the anniversary as a personal event. We have too. Marriage has been under attack in the world. Marriages are seen as contracts that can be renegotiated on any whim. We want our kids to see what a good marriage looks like and to have a model set before them. These are Jack’s thoughts on including the kids. So to that end, I made a special meal. Jack loves rib eye steaks, baked potatoes, and salad. I threw in steamed broccoli and sauteed mushrooms (it is my anniversary too) for good measure. We explained to the kids what we were honoring. They had questions regarding if we loved each other and Aidan kept wondering if we were going to get married! We tried to explain that we were already married. I don’t think he understands that we haven’t always been a family and that Jack and I used to be just friends. Hopefully, small seeds of understanding are being planted and our kids will look forward to watching us grow in our marriage coming to feel comforted by our anniversary celebrations as they see us committed to one another. I had a picture of our wonderfully filling meal, but somehow I have done something to my computer and it is floating in cyberspace. Trust me it was a good meal! Tomorrow evening Jack and I will get away to celebrate by ourselves with a night out. That is important too!

Comments

  1. yummy!!! we had prime rib too! helped dad put a desk together and that was our reward for it:) i think we came out ahead. happy anniversary!

  2. Mghairgirl says:

    Sounds like a wonderful way to celebrate!

  3. Anonymous says:

    Happy anniversary!

    Michelle 🙂

  4. Scott Hayden says:

    Tell Jack, I like his thinking. Let’s be explicit about marriage. Even though “more is caught than taught”, we still need to “throw” in a way that let’s them “catch” it well.
    ~Scott

  5. Hey Kim,
    I noticed you all are reading “Little House in the Big Woods”. We finished it a couple weeks ago and are now on “Little House on the Prairie” (we skipped “Farmer Boy” ooops!). Anyway, we are enjoying them very much. I tried reading “woods” to PJ last year and he just wasn’t ready. How’s the Black Stallion? Do you think it would hold PJ’s attention? Hope you are well.

  6. Cindy Leaf says:

    Love your thoughts, and actions, on this! Glad the picture isn’t on here…I am hungry right now! 🙂

  7. Crystal,

    I’m reading the little house books but Jack is reading Stallion. I think PJ would like it though. I don’t know the story but if he likes animals, then he will probably be able to follow. I tried LH books when G was 4 and she wasn’t interested and now loves them. She couldn’t relate until we moved to America where there is land and horses! 🙂

Leave a Reply

