I spent about 3 hours yesterday in the garden completing my fall planting projects. First, I decided to plant the 57 spring bulbs I have. This is the time to do it for good root development, so I figured now was as good a time as any. I planted daffodils, tulips, and irises. The hardest part is the long wait until spring to see how it will all look! I’m sure once March and April arrive I will be pleased with taking the time to plant this fall. I also decided to rearrange our existing flower beds. Part of the problem with piece by piece planting is that I couldn’t tell how things were going to look after each addition. I decided that what we had looked pretty willy~nilly and brought the shovel out. I dug up many plants and moved them to “better” locations. I won’t be sure of my arrangements until I see the bulbs bloom. We are such novices at this and really are just guessing. Be that as it may, I do find gardening enjoyable. I love trying to bring evidence of life to our home. The kids love having a backyard laboratory of learning as well. It will be hard to see the dying of all our plants in just a few weeks time. My comfort is in the great mysteries going on under ground!

Comments

  1. Bridget Beth says:

    Exciting! I have always wanted to do bulbs, too, but have the problem of patience! Every spring when I see everyone’s bounty I get mad at myself for having not done it 🙂

    What a wonderful home school you have!

  2. Bill, Misty, Will, and Laura Ann says:

    I am so impressed!! You just inspired me to start supper. OK it’s not planting 57 bulbs but it’s something! I haven’t planted bulbs since Will was born. I am so happy for you that you made the time to do that. It is so rewarding when they pop up and eventually bloom.

  3. All of your digging and planting sounds so soothing in the way of hard work that’s worthwhile- good for you! And I’m sorry you’re having to think about orthodontics already; that’s a fun one to add to your plate! Sounds like you’re taking it all in stride…

Leave a Reply

