I am about to take up sewing…again. I have never learned to be an accomplished seamstress. It has been a goal of mine for a few years to be able to at least use a sewing machine for small projects. I don’t think I will ever be a dressmaker. My sister-in-law has been graciously babysitting my machine while we were overseas. I meant to take it with us, but it was left out of the shipment. I have my machine back now and would like to start making some simple things. It makes me nervous though because I really do not have a mind for these things. I desire to create, but am not creative or crafty. I cook, teach and organize…my skills end about there. I found some darling fabrics at the local quilting shop in Newnan. My first project is going to be making some custom burb cloths. People keep having babies around here and I thought it would be nice to have a supply on hand to give out with all the meals we bring to the new moms. Now, I just need someone to show me how to use my machine. It’s that bad.

Comments

  1. Crystal says:

    Kim,
    You are not alone! I am right there with yah! Have fun. I would suggest finding a friend to teach you all they know =)
    have fun sewing!

  2. Our growing family says:

    Hope you have fun! Can’t wait to see pics!

  3. tell me when you want your lesson on your machine…I will give you a very basic understanding of it:)

  4. Statesboro Smiths' says:

    Kim,
    Sewing is my thing. I wish I were closer to help you get started with your machine. When you get the hang of using your machine and want some advise on patterns, let me know. Pillows are a good start. I was just in a furniture store and I asked the salesperson, for curosity sake, how much the sofa pillows were; when she said $100 each I thought maybe I should go into the pillow business.

    Have fun!
    Candace

  5. LivingFree says:

    Wish I was there and I’d help you! I love to sew, although I don’t get to it much these days. Sewing is definitely a critical thinking skills course.

    A good idea for burp clothes it to buy a solid color cloth diaper, sew a piece of ribbon across, about an inch from the bottom. Use a fabric pencil to write the child’s name above the ribbon and then take some thread and hand stitch the name. A friend showed me some she got as a gift. I’m going to teach A. to make them.

    Have fun!!!

  6. Anonymous says:

    Kim, set it up and I will help you on a regular basis whenever you start something “new”

    Mimi

Leave a Reply

