One of my travel desires is to explore England. I have never been to Europe. I have a fascination with English things such as television shows on PBS and BBC America. I love some good English meat pies and mushy peas! I’d love to have afternoon tea while the rains pour down. I appreciate the proper use of the English language. Of course not all the English speak properly, innit? I also have an odd fascination with the names of towns and parishes in England. I love the charming names and the images they conjure up in my mind. I imagine cobblestone streets, sidewalk cafes, fruit and veg markets, people on bicycles instead of cars and cottages surrounded by flowers and fields. The reality is probably far from my imaginings but until I am corrected or see for myself I’ll hold on to my thoughts. The town names sound so inviting and here are a few of the charming town names I found on Wikepedia.

  • Ashton-Under-Lyne
  • Berwick-Upon-Tweed
  • Chipping Norton
  • Droitwich Spa
  • Frinton-On-Sea
  • Henley-In-Arden
  • Kirkbymoorside
  • Leighton Buzzard…maybe not charming but odd
  • Mansfield Woodhouse
  • Newbiggin-By-The-Sea
  • Ottery St Mary
  • Pateley Bridge
  • Robin Hood’s Bay
  • Royal Turnbridge Wells
  • Stow-On-The-Wold
  • Totton & Eling
  • Wainfleet All Saints
  • Weston-Super-Mare
  • Westward Ho!…no kidding…it is real

Don’t the names have a certain air about them? I wonder what the fascination is with the hyphens? I look forward to a day when it may be possible to take a trip to find the most charming town.

Comments

  1. LOL, I saw this and just had to comment. 😉
    Yorkshire will be your best bet at historic charming villages, countryside, cobbled streets and little charming streets. Rye or Haworth in Yorkshire.
    Hope you’re having a fun summer.
    Anna

  2. Anna, I figured you find this funny. It would probably be like someone in England talking about how nice a town like Riverdale sounds here…but that would make people from Atlanta laugh.

  3. Our growing family says:

    That sounds so fun! I would love to go some day just because of family history…there is a castle in ruins with our family name on it…how cool is that!!
    More so I want to go to italy though!
    I hope you get to go one day! =)

  4. yea. but what I’ve learned from the past few years here is that there are two very different Englands. There’s the country/village old England that you describe and that my grandparents still live in. And then there’s the England of ‘now’, of the era of Little Britain. LOL.
    I hope you do eventually get to come here, cos even I can accept that England’s not all bad!

  5. ditto what anna said. there are some overwhelmingly white middle class villages in the uk (one of which i am living in at the moment) which can be charming, albeit suffocating. Then yes, there is the racist, Little Britain-esque England. That is ‘modern’ Britain, in cities etc. But yes, I do hope you come to the UK someday. There are charming bits, and there are bad bits, but isn’t everywhere like that?

  6. Hello from Kirkbymoorside, when visiting remember the 2nd K is silence when you prenounce it 🙂

  7. Fintan…how cool that you commented. I will remember your tip if I ever make it to Kirkbymooreside.

Leave a Reply

